Sycamore Wraps Up Regular Season

MAPLE PARK, Ill. — Sycamore Speedway presented its final, points-paying, racing program Saturday night with Jeff Schulze (super late models) and Zach Zuberbier (street stocks) among the feature race winners at the quarter-mile dirt track.

Schulze, a relative newcomer to the racing action at Sycamore, scored his first career late model 25 lapper as he defeated Jeremy Spoonmore, Joe Rusiano, Cory Trump and Greg Cantrell Jr.

The 36-year old Carol Stream resident, whose dad Jeff use to race on Chicago area short tracks, battled with Spoonmore a good part of the race with Schulze holding to the bottom groove and Spoonmore running the outside.

Zuberbier won both 25-lap main events for street stock competitors. Winning this year’s division track championship, the Kingston speedster captured his eighth and ninth feature wins of the year. Zuberbier bested Joel Hernandez and Don Markham in the first feature and Dave Richards and Austin Runge in the second.

Coming back from an early race tangle, Nick Schneider of Rockton won the 12-lap pure stocks main event. Schneider defeated John Chmelik and Geoff McKarns. Rick Zifko of Aurora was the winner of the 12-lap feature race for Hornets (four-cylinder) division racers.

Nick Daywalt of Slinger, Wis., claimed top honors in the 20-lap feature race for the visiting Wisconsin Illinois Mini Sprint (WIMS) tour, which made its first appearance at the Sycamore oval since 2012. Wheeling his Daywalt Motorsports 1200cc-powered, winged, open-wheel car, Daywalt took the checkered flag in front of Mark Heinert, CJ Malueg, Mike Neau and Ron Brannam.

Article from Speedsport Magazine

Stan Kalwasinski has been involved in auto racing for nearly 50 years as both a writer and photographer. He has a particular interest in Chicagoland auto racing — primarily stock car racing. Look for him at tracks in the Chicagoland region of Illinois.